Connecting Words

btt button

Okay, today’s question is going to be a little different. First, I’m posting it early because Thursday is Thanksgiving here in the U.S. and I’m going to be busy making and eating turkey as I’m sure some of you will also be, so I want to give everyone time to play. And two, because I’m basically going to link you through to somebody else’s blog with a question that I thought was pretty interesting.

Joanna and Brad are asking about “connecting words,” and they don’t mean conjunctions like “and” or “but.” No, what they’re looking for are unique, or treasured words that we’ve found out and about in our daily travels, words that might not be common usage, or often heard, but which struck a chord for some reason.

This is unorthodox, of course, but here’s the thing: if you link back to Joanna’s post (which is where the rules are written), you’re eligible to win a prize. Not to mention joining in some great conversation about interesting words.

I’m not sure if you’re supposed to leave a comment there or not. She only specifies that you should link to it in your post, but . . . I suppose a comment wouldn’t hurt. But, as always, comment here, too, please so that all of us can play along. I’ve already answered this one here.

Don’t forget to leave a link to your actual response (so people don’t have to go searching for it) in the comments.

23 responses

  1. Hi Deb, thanks for highlighting this project – we’re hoping it’ll be a springboard for some new connections so the more people that know about it – and take part – the better 🙂

    Comments are always welcome but the main thing is just to make sure we can find your post for the final round-up, and to make sure your name gets entered into the hat. (Prize is a book – perfect!)

    Joanna

  2. I have mine up at Rhinoa’s Ramblings and I added a link to Joanna’s blog too.

  3. I enjoyed this and I’m looking forward to reading everyone’s contributions! Here’s mine:
    http://geraniumcat.blogspot.com/2007/11/booking-through-thursday-connecting.html

  4. Here’s my attempt for this week’s BTT. Happy reading!

  5. Not an easy one.

    I suppose this is one meme which very few or going to do.

    What with Thanksgiving and all!!

  6. Write my answer in praise of kipple.

  7. Here is mine. Have a Fantastilicious Thanksgiving! 🙂

  8. […] Through Words- Booking Through Thursday Posted on November 22, 2007 by lisamm Connecting Words November 19, […]

  9. I’m still fiddling a little but my post should be up in about an hour here:

    Connecting words – BTT

  10. […] Incidentally, folks, did you see the clever post Joanna put together with all our Connecting Words from a couple weeks ago? Not to mention, of course Brad’s winner to the contest. […]

  11. I know I am very late. But here is mine, I finally got it up.
    http://downstowngirl.blogspot.com/2007/11/booking-through-thursday-connecting.html
    P.S. Please check out the memes I am hosting. They are listed on the sidebar