Catalog

btt button

Do you use any of the online book-cataloguing sites, like Library Thing or Shelfari? Why or why not? (Or . . . do you have absolutely no idea what I’m talking to?? (grin))

If not an online catalog, do you use any other method to catalog your book collection? Excel spreadsheets, index cards, a notebook, anything?
Don’t forget to leave a link to your actual response (so people don’t have to go searching for it) in the comments—or if you prefer, leave your answers in the comments themselves!

 P.S. Incidentally, folks, did you see the clever post Joanna put together with all our Connecting Words from a couple weeks ago? Not to mention, of course Brad’s winner to the contest.

72 responses

  1. Yay, I’m first! You can read my answer <a href=”http://chasida.blogspot.com/2007/12/btt-online-book-cataloging.html”here.

  2. Mine’s up.🙂 Check it out here!

  3. Happy Booking Through Thursday everyone! I hope you have a good day!

    Here Mine!

    Julia – Yen

  4. Happy BTT all!

    Here is mine:

    booking through cataloguing

  5. Hello all you high tech marvels! I’m answering this one from the gut.
    Cereal box reader: Who, me catalogue?#links

  6. My answer is here and now I’m off to check out those book cataloguing sites!

  7. http://xinef.livejournal.com/180253.html

    I would love to set up something like that, but haven’t as yet. No catalog or list of all of our books anywhere. We do take a video of the various bookcases once in a while, for insurance purposes, but that is about it.

    We have several hundred books, many of them old enough that they won’t automatically have ISBNs, etc, so cataloging them will be a major task. Some day!

  8. Mine’s up!

    Only one more day til the weekend! Happy Thursday!

  9. Mine is up here!

    Have a great day and a Merry Christmas, everyone🙂

  10. It’s been a while since I booked. Good to be back. My response is here:

    http://writingwrongs.wordpress.com/2007/12/13/booking-it-orderly/

  11. Hi,

    My first time here. I am up. Blessings to you..

  12. I’m up!! This is the first time in a couple of weeks. Stop by and see me at http://stephaniesbooks.blogspot.com/

  13. Happy BTT, everyone! Here’s mine

  14. I may not catalog my books but you can find out how I organize them here:
    http://bookinhand.blogspot.com/2007/12/catalog.html

  15. My first BTT in weeks! Here’s the link to my answers.

  16. […] – Booking Through Thursday Posted on December 13, 2007 by lisamm Catalog December 13, […]

  17. I’ve added mine.

  18. […] week’s Booking Through Thursday question is one I can answer! Last week’s, regarding book out of print, I couldn’t answer as I […]

  19. I built my own catalog. Happy BTT.

  20. Why would I spend time cataloging my books, time I could spend reading them?

  21. I actually played this week! First time in ages. You can see mine here.

  22. […] okay, I give up. You all made the LibraryThing book cataloging service sound so good that I had to go and join. And immediately become […]

  23. I keep a commonplace book, a database and have recently joined GoodReads…
    Static8: Booking: Catalog

  24. Library Thing! Here is my full response.

  25. I use Goodreads as it’s (IMHO) better than Shelfari and cheaper than LibraryThing (i.e. FREE for any number of books😀 )

  26. hi! I haven’t been very serious lately, but I managed to catch up. You can my answer to this question and the previous ones here :
    http://litdetective.canalblog.com/

  27. Catching up!

    I’m on Library Thing and Good Reads but I need to update them both😛 I once tried to create a database for my books but I a) got confused with the software (anyone who knows how fast I pick up software knows that is really saying something lol and b) I just have too many books to do that😛 The Web thing works well for me🙂

  28. I used to keep a reading log, but january 2007 I found LibraryThing and I am a fanatic now, not just for the catalogue feature but for the community and reference parts too!

  29. 3 months or so late… eek!

    It’s under the cut here.

