Blackout

btt button

My apologies for the lack of a question last week–blame Hurricane Sandy and the 5-day power outage that kept me from getting online.

But it leads to today’s question:

1. How do storms affect your reading? Do you go for comfort reading?

2. How do you deal with power outages? Do you read by candlelight? Flashlights? Use a self-lit e-reader or tablet? Skip reading altogether for the duration and instead play games with the family?


Don’t forget to leave a link to your actual response (so people don’t have to go searching for it) in the comments—or if you prefer, leave your answers in the comments themselves!

(And–sorry about missing last week. Blame Hurricane Sandy and my not having any power for 5 days.)

20 responses

  1. Glad you are ok and the power is back on!

    My reading during storms or outages would depend on what’s going on, the needs of the family, etc., but I’d probably not want to get into any heavy reading requiring a lot of concentration then. It’s hard to know how much to use tablets and such since there is no way to recharge them. We do have some battery-operated lanterns, but again, not knowing how long the power will be out, we try to use them judiciously. We usually end up going to bed earlier when the power is out since there is no much else to do.

  2. Glad you are safe. Happy Thursday everyone!

    Comfort reading

  3. I figured you were in a blackout….glad you’re okay! Here’s MY BTT POST

  4. Absconding to Wander

    Stupid storm! Happy to hear you’ve gotten your power back. My family lost power for that long but I was a bit more lucky.

    Here’s my post: http://soonrememberedtales.blogspot.com/2012/11/booking-through-thursday.html

  5. Glad to hear your ok.

    Here’s my answer: http://wp.me/p2GHnu-3a

  6. That was a super nasty storm. I have family all over the north east and I can tell you I wasn’t calm for a second until everyone reported they were okay. Thank goodness my nephew did not decide to make his debut during that time. He waited until yesterday 🙂

    Super glad you are doing well!

    This is my contribution this week:

    Booking Through Thursday: Blackout

  7. I’m glad you’re okay. Here’s my answer: http://mervih.wordpress.com/2012/11/08/blackout/

  8. Happy to hear that you and yours are safe and sound. An appropriate question given the circumstances. Hope all of the affected areas will recover fully soon enough.

  9. I hope everything is getting closer to normal for you again. My BTT is HERE.

  10. ohh perfect question. i keep having blackouts. My BTT.