Olympic Reading

btt button

You may have noticed–the Winter Olympics are going on. Is that affecting your reading time? Have you read any Olympics-themed books? What do you think about the Olympics in general? Here’s your chance to discuss!

(And for the record? My favorite Olympics book is Joy Goodwin’s The Second Mark which tells the story of the three figure skating pairs involved in the 2002 Salt Lake City controversy. The controversy is actually the smallest part of the story–the fascinating part is learning about the training of the three teams–Canadian, Russian, and Chinese. Just saying. And yes, I AM watching the Olympics on tv each night.)

Don’t forget to leave a link to your actual response (so people don’t have to go searching for it) in the comments—or if you prefer, leave your answers in the comments themselves!

50 responses

  1. Ho hum…an ex-gymnast’s take…

    BTT: Gold Medal Reading

  2. Nice to know I’m not the only one pretty much ignoring them! My answer is here.

  3. So upset that those opening ceremony hats sold out before I could order one! Oh, well – here’s my answer:

    http://jlshall.blogspot.com/2010/02/booking-through-thursday-olympic.html

  4. Awesome question as it definitely applies to my lack of reading last night! Answer at: The Crowded Leaf.

  5. I’ve recently started getting back into doing these each week. I forgot how fun they were.

    http://pamr.blogspot.com/2010/02/olympic-reading.html

  6. I’d watch snowboarding, if hubby would give up the tv! LOL.

    http://shouldbereading.wordpress.com/2010/02/18/btt-olympic-reading/

    ~MizB

  7. Sorry, couldn’t think of any Olympian-related books I’d read lately other than Percy Jackson. I did something else today: kids books that make me cry. Weird, I’ know. Might make a good future BTT question, though.

    http://www.teacherninjas.com/2010/02/i-admit-i-am-big-crybaby.html

    Thanks.

  8. My Olympics have been peppered with multi tasking and other forms of entertainment. My full response is here:

    http://bookminstrel.blogspot.com/2010/02/booking-through-thursday-olympics.html

  9. Here is my resonse:

    http://sheeryhall.blogspot.com/2010/02/booking-through-thursday.html

    I’m going to have to see if my library has The Second Mark because, as you’ll see in my answer, I found all of that so gripping.

  10. No. I don’t watch it and it doesn’t affect my reading.

    Olympic Reading

  11. Mine’s not much this week. I haven’t watched and I haven’t read any books that are olympic related. Looking forward to reading what everyone else wrote.

  12. I don’t have any sort of Television access unless I am at work – so I haven’t seen ANY of the olympics. It’s not affecting my reading at all.

  13. […] Booking Through Thursday – Olympic Reading And the meme this week is from Deb: […]

  14. My answer’s here!

    Yay for the Olympics, wonderful question for this week!

  15. Love the Olympics, it’s a family past time. Here’s mine

  16. What a good BTT! Here’s mine:

    BTT: Winter Olympics

  17. No, no, and no. My detailed answer (digression) is up. 🙂

  18. […] abebe bikila, atleet, atletu, btt, ethiopië, film, olympische spelen, sport This week’s Booking Through Thursday is about Olympic reading. You may have noticed–the Winter Olympics are going on. Is that […]