Gold Medal Reading

btt button

You, um, may have noticed that the Olympics are going on right now, so that’s the genesis of this week’s question, in two parts:

First:

  • Do you or have you ever read books about the Olympics? About sports in general?
  • Fictional ones? Or non-fiction? Or both?

And, Second:

  • Do you consider yourself a sports fan?
  • Because, of course, if you’re a rabid fan and read about sports constantly, there’s a logic there; if you hate sports and never read anything sports-related, that, too … but you don’t have to love sports to enjoy a good sports story.
  • (Or a good sports movie, for that matter. Feel free to expand this into a discussion about “Friday Night Lights” or “The Natural” or whatever…)

(For the record, I am not a sports fan at all, but I’ll watch almost any Olympics event, have indeed read books about the Olympics–and strongly recommend The Second Mark, which yes, is about Figure Skating, but was a fantastic story and particularly enthralling in its view into life as an athlete in China, so no sneering at the sport, okay? The book was fascinating. I’ve also read a history of the 1896 Olympics (there’s  also a good mini-series which just came out on DVD).)

Don’t forget to leave a link to your actual response (so people don’t have to go searching for it) in the comments—or if you prefer, leave your answers in the comments themselves!

And also–don’t forget, folks–sometimes WordPress’s spam filter seems to decide that a lot of perfectly valid answers are spam. I periodically check throughout the day for lost comments. But, PLEASE–if your comment doesn’t show, don’t post it four more times in the hopes that one of them will go through. I get very, very tired trying to sort out the duplicates.

88 responses

  1. Here is mine!

    Go USA! (Even if I only watch a few events.)

  2. […] I had to think a little to answer this weeks BTT question. […]

  3. Mine is here. I’m up at 1 a.m. watching the Olympics. sheesh.

  4. Hi Everyone (*waving* at Deb)! How are you doing today? Hope you have a good Thursday!

    Here Mine!

  5. Here’s mine!
    Happy Thursday BTT’ers 🙂

  6. Here’s mine:

    http://islandeditions.wordpress.com/2008/08/14/booking-on-thursday-theres-another-competition-going-on/

    (not really so much “Bah, Humbug!” as not a fan of competitions in general…)

  7. Good morning, BTTers. Here’s my answer.
    http://smilingsally.blogspot.com/

  8. Happy rainy Thursday evening from my part of the world. Here is mine. ^_^

  9. It will be interesting to see how many of you book worms are also sports enthusiasts.
    http://bookeywookey.blogspot.com/2008/08/sleeping-through-quidditch.html

  10. Okay, so when I first read the question, I groaned and rolled my eyes… ICK! sports books… but I had tons of fun answering it! Go For Gold, Jeffy! 😀

  11. Mine is here. Happy BTT everyone! 🙂

  12. Short but posted.

    http://shaycv.blogspot.com/2008/08/btt-gold-medal-reading.html

    I have read a few sports books over the years but none that really stand out in my mind. I am not a die hard sports fan, but my favorite sports are football, baseball, World of Outlaws and NASCAR.

    Does Taledaga Nights or Days of Thunder count as a good sport movie?

  13. I’m glad to hear I’m not the Olympics-junkie…. (grin)

  14. Well, I’ll try this just once more (promise), and if it doesn’t work I’ll assume I’ve been banished to the WordPress spammer’s limbo. My answer is here:

    http://jlshall.blogspot.com/2008/08/booking-through-thursday-gold-medal.html

  15. unfinishedperson

    With mine, I am remembering Jim Thorpe, Shoeless Joe and the Titans. Look forward to reading what others had to say also.

  16. Mine is up here:

    http://barbarah.wordpress.com/2008/08/14/booking-through-thursday-gold-medal-reading/

    Thanks for those recommendations. I love figure skating, too.

  17. Here is mine… I could have written forever, but I have things to do. This was fun!

  18. Let me try this again…..
    Although not a rabid sports fan, I did discover I like sports books more than I realized.

  19. Yeah!! I’m up!! This is the first BTT that I”ve been in for awhile…just couldn’t pass this one up!! Visit me here: http://stephaniesbooks.blogspot.com/

  20. Mine is here!

    Go USA!! Michael Phelps is making history! 😀

  21. Ruth has Olympic fever, but at least she doesn’t have to lie to her parents to watch the coverage anymore!

  22. Here’s my post. Happy Thursday everyone!

  23. The only sports-related fiction I’ve read was Rita Mae Brown’s “Sudden Death”, and that may have actually been semi-autobio-fiction. 😉

  24. Hey, I’m actually doing this ON Thursday for a change. Go me.
    My response is here.

  25. Here’s mine. The only station my TV picks up is Wii (or Playstation), so I’m sadly behind on my Olympics. 🙂

  26. Argh, let me try again. Here it is!

  27. Click on my name. I’m up!

  28. Had to close Readerville because of trademark issues I was previously unaware of. My post is now at my new home at The Book Lady’s Blog

  29. My first attempt at Book Through Thursday:
    http://albookworm.blogspot.com/

  30. oops I posted on my site but forgot to link here.
    Here are my answers!
    http://bassetknitter.blogspot.com/2008/08/dogs-loot-fish-and-books.html

  31. Though I enjoy watching the Olympics gymnastics competitions, the rest of it is mostly lost on me. I never read books on sports, except for, say, a Don DeLillo novel. Something’s missing in my personality: I’ve never been able to figure out the appeal to spectator sports, especially when the players are people you don’t know.