Best moustache-twirling

btt button
Booking Through Thursday

Well, after last week’s record-breaking number of responses (92 last time I checked–an all-time BTT record), I was tempted to use this week’s question to ask what you all thought about Harry Potter 7–but since a decent proportion of you weren’t going to be reading it at all, that seemed unfair. So instead . . .

Who’s the worst fictional villain you can think of? As in, the one you hate the most, find the most evil, are happiest to see defeated? Not the cardboard, two-dimensional variety, but the most deliciously-written, most entertaining, best villain? Not necessarily the most “evil,” so much as the best-conceived on the part of the author…oh, you know what I mean!


Don’t forget to leave a link to your actual response (so people don’t have to go searching for it) in the comments—or if you prefer, leave your answers in the comments themselves!

51 responses

  1. Here’s mine. Not really interesting though. I’m a bit distracted hehe.

  2. Here’s mine! Happy BTT, folks!

  3. Here’s mine:
    http://bright-lilim.livejournal.com/64825.html
    On time for once. 🙂

  4. Mine’s in! (a tough one for me, I gotta say!)

    Happy Thursday, All!

  5. Love this question! My answer is here.

  6. My comments on the moustache twirlers.

  7. Some of the best villains I know are from my children’s literature.

  8. This one was a tough one, but fun to think about!

    Here’s Mine!

  9. Mine is up…now I want to get around and read about everyone else’s villains!

  10. My answer is up althought I don’t really have a favorite.

  11. Here’s mine: http://jacquie.typepad.com/

    It’s in the left side bar.

  12. Sorry I’m half the day late. But I hope everyone have a good day!

    Here is mine

  13. Here’s my response. This one was hard–but fun!

  14. Hi, I’m late. Anyway, here’s mine.

  15. thesleepyreader

    I’m late too but better late than never, right? 😉Here’s Mine.

  16. I’m enjoying all the answers, it’s always good to see such a variety of responses. I’m glad you all liked this question! (And I’ll just pause for a little pat on the back for coming up with a post-title that I’m ridiculously proud of . . . you’ve gotta love coming up with JUST the right title.)

    Finally, my own answer is up here.

  17. I’m up. Late, sorry, long day, weird answer.

    GREAT question though, and I’m looking forward to reading (some of) the answers others have written!

  18. http://xinef.livejournal.com/144473.html

    This is a hard one. In many of the books I read, it isn’t a case of “black and white”, bad vs good. The villains are usually “human”, ie have good qualities as well as bad. Makes them far more interesting characters.

    After reading other responses, I have read and agree with Mo, Silas in Dan Brown’s “The Da Vinci Code” was a nasty villain. “Angels and Demons” had a great villain, too, whose name I forget off the top of my head.

  19. For me it is Flashman from Tom Brown’s Schooldays.
    In all walks of life bullies still get away with it…

  20. […] Best moustache-twirlingbtt button Booking Through Thursday. Well, after last week’s record-breaking number of responses (92 last time I checked–an all-time BTT record), I was tempted to use this week’s question to ask what you all thought about Harry Potter … […]

  21. I follow your posts for a long time and must tell you that your posts always prove to be of a high value and quality for readers.