Chappy

btt button

Today would have been my dearly loved Boykin Spaniel Chappy’s 15th birthday, except I lost him in April.

Tell me something to cheer me up? Suggest something to read? A good joke? A heart-warming story?

What do you read when you need to cheer yourself up?

(And, please, no ‘Rainbow Bridge’ poems because I find them beyond depressing–I don’t want my dog waiting this side of heaven until I catch up. I want him romping and having fun IN heaven, as long as he comes to greet me when I get there.)


Don’t forget to leave a link to your actual response (so people don’t have to go searching for it) in the comments—or if you prefer, leave your answers in the comments themselves!

7 responses

  1. I’m sorry for your loss.

    My all-time favourite comfort book is “A Modern Witch” by Debora Geary. It’s self-published and only available as an ebook these days but sooooo good!

  2. Oh, I am so so sorry! You must be so upset, I hope you’re okay❤ I'm sure Chappy is laying on a bed of delicious treats and jumping around, having fun wherever he is!

    When i need a cheer up, I always turn to Kasie West! Her books make me laugh out loud – they're a little cliche but just the right amount of cute to make you feel just that little bit better!

  3. Deb….where shall we start? This message comes from thousands of miles away, I am sure. From somebody who doesn’t know you until today. Today, through Chappy, our lives have crossed. Even though he isn’t there anymore, he is still looking out for you. Maybe through this message.

  4. My favorite author for humor is the Brit, P.G. Wodehouse. He’s most known for his Bertie and Wooster tales, featuring a daffy aristo frequently being bailed out of trouble by his unflappable butler, Jeeves. It’s not just the scraps Bertie gets himself into that solicit laughter, it’s the energy in Wodehouse’s writing, the eccentricity of expression. A couple of quotes:

    “Lady Malvern was a hearty, happy, healthy, overpowering sort of dashed female, not so very tall but making up for it by measuring about six feet from the O.P. to the Prompt Side. She fitted into my biggest arm-chair as if it had been built round her by someone who knew they were wearing arm-chairs tight about the hips that season.”

    “There are moments, Jeeves, when one asks oneself, ‘Do trousers matter?'”
    “The mood will pass, sir.”

  5. I’ve always loved Wodehouse–and it’s true. It’s been ages since I read him!

  6. Winnie the Pooh, or Narnia. When I’m sad or sick I always tend to return to beloved classic children’s books!

