Being a Reader

btt button

I was talking to a co-worker the other day about a book I’d read recently, and realized how very, very few people I can do that with. In my daily life, it seems like almost no-one reads anything more than a newspaper or a fashion magazine. I only have one person I can truly chat about books with … and yet, being a Capital-R-Reader, I simply can’t imagine going through life without a book constantly at hand, or shelves of them proudly displayed downstairs. I’m proud of being a person who not only reads, but who reads a lot–not just in volume but in variety. I like having an inquiring mind. I like exploring new ideas. I love following an intricately plotted story (the more layers the better). I love BEING a reader and simply can’t imagine what it’s like to go through life without being one.

Am I the only one who feels this way? That wonders at how other people can simply NOT do something that should be so essential? Who feels almost sad that so many people seem content to go through their lives without stretching their mental wings at all?

Can you imagine NOT being a Reader? How does it shape your life? Your perception of it?

How does being a Reader affect your relationship with all those folks who are looking at it from the other side and simply can’t understand how you can sit and READ all the time?

Yep, it’s a long-winded, philosophical springboard to a ephemeral conversation … go, see what you can make of it!


Don’t forget to leave a link to your actual response (so people don’t have to go searching for it) in the comments—or if you prefer, leave your answers in the comments themselves!

32 responses

  1. WOW…NOW THAT IS A QUESTION… You can find my answer at…
    http://annsreadingcorner.blogspot.com

  2. Come check out my BTT.

  3. What a stimulating question! Here’s MY BTT POST

  4. Good question. Here’s my BTT answer. Have a good weekend!

  5. What a wonderful question this week! I really enjoyed thinking about the answer and I can’t wait to see everyone else’s. Here’s my answer: http://meganm922.blogspot.com/2012/11/booking-through-thursdaybeing-reader.html

  6. A catch up post on the last few weeks, including this one: http://wp.me/p1t7Ho-Oe

  7. Long, thoughtful question requires long, thoughtful answer. http://boyett-brinkley.blogspot.com

  8. Nice question and one that I really identified with! My answer is HERE.

  9. Excellent question! I don’t have a lot of people I can talk books with in real life which is quite sad really isn’t it? Most of my family and friends are simply not interested in reading, but I actually have one friend who openly admits that he thinks reading is a waste of time, and he can’t see how I can sit (or slouch!) for hours on end with my nose in a book. He says he admires my ability to concentrate for that long (!) but that reading a book, or even a short story, is way beyond him. I am astounded by that!

    I can’t imagine what life would be like if I didn’t have a) a book to hand, literally within arms reach at all times, b) one or two novels on the go, c) a stack of books waiting to be read, d) bookshelves sagging and groaning with a double (and triple) row of books on them and e) a list of a million questions about the things I’ve read and that have sparked my interest about something new or thought provoking. I think I might do a fuller post on this question, you’ve got me thinking now!!

  10. What a thoughtful topic! My full answer is now posted on my blog.

  11. A day late now, but it’s my first time responding to one of these, so I did want to post. It’s an interesting launching point for a discussion–it has me thinking a lot more about the idea of the different passions people pursue, and how they do and don’t overlap. Anyway: http://libraryhungry.blogspot.com/2012/11/linkage.html

