Blogs

btt button
A while ago, I interviewed my readers for a change, and my final question was, “What question have I NOT asked at BTT that you’d love me to ask?” I got some great responses and will be picking out some of the questions from time to time to ask the rest of you. Like now.

Yvonne asks:

What do you look for when reading a book blog? Does the blogger have to read the same genre? Do you like reviews? Personal posts? Memes? Giveaways? What attracts you to a book blog?

And–what are your favorite book blogs?

Don’t forget to leave a link to your actual response (so people don’t have to go searching for it) in the comments—or if you prefer, leave your answers in the comments themselves!

48 responses

  1. I love this question! Honestly, all it takes for me to love a book blog is honest reviews!

    http://bookishbooksblog.blogspot.com/2012/02/booking-through-thursday-week-5.html

  2. Such good questions!🙂

    See My Booking Through Thursday – Here

    Tabby @Insightful Minds
    Come Check Out My – 250 Follower Giveaway!

  3. There are so many book blogs to wade through that it can be hard to find ones that speak to me directly, that are in tune with my way of thinking and inspire me to read outside of my normal sphere. I am lucky to have found one such blog at http://Ihugmybooks.wordpress.com

    I dip in and out of other people’s book blogs, particularly ones I find here on Booking Through Thursday, but ‘I Hug My Books’ is the one I return to time and time again. Since discovering it my TBR list has shot through the roof. I’ve quadrupled the number of books I read! I’m constantly trying to catch up or keep up with LubyLou, the author.

    She reads a huge variety of books – genres I like, plus others I wouldn’t have touched if she hadn’t inspired me to. The reviews are from the heart and most importantly, for me, the reviews are a spring-board for conversations. Memes and giveaways are ok, but the thing that keeps me coming back is the sense of friendship that comes from open conversations where everyone is welcome to participate.

    SammyDee (my blog: http://ManchesterMeanders.wordpress.com)

  4. Great questions here is my answer: http://edwardsgranddaugther.blogspot.com/2012/02/book-blogs.html

    If you have the time please check out my fourth book review. Thanks so much

  5. Great question…it made me zero in on traits that appeal to me; here’s MY THURSDAY MEMES POST

  6. excellent question🙂
    “i love it all but i’ve found that memes are uber fun!” is my short answer. click the link for my long answer :p

    http://inner-aspen.blogspot.com/2012/02/booking-through-thursday-book-blogs.html

    xoxo aspen

  7. Excellent topic for this week’s BTT! Honest book reviews, similar tastes, and a photo meme or two rate high for me: http://thelitoverse.blogspot.com/2012/02/booking-through-thursday-blogs.html

  8. I like this question! It’s good to see what everyone is looking for in a blog.
    I love honest reviews, memes, and giveaways. Here’s the rest of my answer.

    http://cookiesreadingcorner.blogspot.com/2012/02/booking-through-thursday.html

  9. Love this question & seeing the responses – here’s my answer.

  10. If you’ve never heard of Forever Young Adult, you must check it out! YA and snarky Austinites: what more could you want?

    My post is here:

  11. Sorry for the double comment; my link didn’t work: http://lindsayloves.com/2012/02/24/btt-blogs/

  12. I have a book blog that is primarily reviews but, if I’m honest, it’s more for my own benefit than anyone else’s. It gives me an impetus to ensure all the books I read are listed somewhere (Gosh how I wish I had done that fifty years ago),
    But the sort of book blog I like is one that covers all sorts of different aspects of books, literature, libraries, etc. I think that is far more interesting to the general reader. I understand from Dawn Treader that this is the sort of blog yours is so I shall be back… Hopefully my new Once A Librarian blog will also be more along these lines.

  13. Just click on the name for the post.

  14. I like book blogs that aren’t joky.

    And I like btt2!

