Fan Fiction

btt button
A while ago, I interviewed my readers for a change, and my final question was, “What question have I NOT asked at BTT that you’d love me to ask?” I got some great responses and will be picking out some of the questions from time to time to ask the rest of you. Like now.

Pepca asks
Have you every written any fan-fiction? If yes, why and for which book(s)? If no, would you like to and for which books(s)?

For that matter, do you ever READ fan-fiction??

Don’t forget to leave a link to your actual response (so people don’t have to go searching for it) in the comments—or if you prefer, leave your answers in the comments themselves!

46 responses

  1. I have… Fanon for frustrations. *giggles*

    Here’s my answer at Whatever You Can Still Betray

  2. My BTT for this week–http://toofond.wordpress.com/2012/02/16/booking-through-thursday-fan-fiction/. Interested in reading what you all think, too!

  3. Dangerous question! Well… maybe just a tiny little bit, unfortunately my vision about fan-fiction it’s tormented by some really awkward ones xD

    my BTT here: http://milleniumofthebookworm.blogspot.com/2012/02/booking-through-thursday-3.html

  4. Patricia @ Lady with Books

    Happy Thursday everybody!

    My answer can be found HERE.

  5. I stumbled upon fan-fiction a decade ago and have been reading it in some vein or another ever since. Fan-fiction and fanzines themselves have been around for decades (as far back as the 80s for Star Trek) and I think fan-fiction has wonderful potential. Some people enjoy writing a story they want to see with characters they love. Some (often younger) people want practice and giving them some aspects of a story ready-made is a bit like a writing prompt. Some people find it their hobby/stress relief.

    I wrote fan-fiction once, in high school for Harry Potter. I never finished the story, but I got what I wanted out of the experience, which was feed back on my writing. I entered it as an experiment as to whether my writing held any promise. I haven’t written anything since and have too many ideas in my head for my own stories to really consider it.

    What I love most, however, about fan-fiction is how it has a bit of something for everyone, which I why I think it’s so appealing. It offers the re-do, the what if it happened different, if these characters got together instead, etc. It fills the gaps in the story if someone walked away unsatisfied. Now, it’s true that there are plenty of fanfic that are badly written (especially on the monolith fanfiction dot com). Plenty. But, there are also a lot of short or novel length stories where the writing is good, great, amazing even (which is why recommendation lists are useful). Some, I would dare say, as good as the original. And I’m being potentially heretical–on a rare occasion better for what it offers as a new perspective/depth.

    For me, fan-fiction is no different than all those Pride and Prejudice spin offs that came out on the market in the past several years with the characters. Especially Pride and Prejudice with Zombies. Or retelling Shakespeare for that matter. Those authors/movies can simply choose to publish/make it for profit because the story is public domain.

    Fan-fiction at its very best pushes the boundaries. The story can take more risks that can have a big payoff because (I would argue) it doesn’t have to reach an audience and be published. You don’t have anyone saying, you can’t write this concept or plot, it won’t sell. It takes the familiar and retells it from a different point of view. It can take side characters and flesh them out in stories of their own. It can be unsettling and challenging and dark. It can have crazy, whimsical plot ideas that are silly, but lovely, or funny. It can be just as good as whatever else is out published in genre. And that is why I continue to read it.

  6. I’m honoured you picked my suggestion. Thank you! It’s only fair I answer my own question, right? Here is my answer: http://beyondstrangenewwords.blogspot.com/2012/02/booking-through-thursday-fan-fiction.html

