Ground Floor

btt button

In honor of our giveaway yesterday (don’t forget to enter for your chance to win!) …

There’s something wonderful about getting in on the ground floor of an author’s career–about being one of the first people to read and admire them, before they became famous best-sellers.

Which authors have you been lucky enough to discover at the very beginning of their careers?

And, if you’ve never had that chance, which author do you WISH you’d been able to discover at the very beginning?


Don’t forget to leave a link to your actual response (so people don’t have to go searching for it) in the comments—or if you prefer, leave your answers in the comments themselves!

46 responses

  1. I could only think of two authors that I caught at the ground floor, but there are certainly some that I wish I had!

    Here’s my full response:
    http://www.ddubsreads.com/DDubsReads/Blog/Entries/2011/2/10_Booking_Through_Thursday_February_10.html

  2. heres mine for the week! I’m going to have to keep an eye out for debut authors i think!

    http://shelovesreading.wordpress.com/2011/02/10/booking-through-thursdays-ground-floor/

  3. This was a fun meme. My reply could have gotten a lot longer, but I managed to restrain myself a bit, particularly on the Wish-bit🙂
    http://mostraum.wordpress.com/2011/02/10/booking-through-thursday-ground-floor/

  4. […] Booking Through Thursday question is an interesting […]

  5. Great question – and answering it led to me finding out about a new book by a favourite author! Here’s my entry:

    http://someoldstory.com/2011/02/feature-getting-in-on-the-ground-floor/

  6. I can’t say I’ve really read with someone from their early days until they became famous. Or well…maybe I have. I wasn’t super early, but I did start reading Brandon Sanderson’s books before he was a NYT Bestseller and before her took over Wheel of Time. But I was also taking a class with Brandon, so it only half counts.

    To read the rest of my response, just take a jump over here: http://www.ashleycrosby.com/blog/?p=211

  7. […] question at Booking Through Thursday: There’s something wonderful about getting in on the ground floor of an author’s career–about […]

  8. […] BTT: Ground Floor There’s something wonderful about getting in on the ground floor of an author’s career–about b… […]

  9. Love this question. My answer is up.🙂

  10. It must be Thursday somewhere. No? Here’s my answer to a great question!
    Can’t wait to go read other answers, and find new books to read!

  11. […] missing Girl Scout sash, AP Information Night at the high school. I really like this week’s Booking Through Thursday prompt: Which authors have you been lucky enough to discover at the very beginning of their careers? And […]

