Too Short?

btt button

Suggested by JM:

“Life is too short to read bad books.” I’d always heard that, but I still read books through until the end no matter how bad they were because I had this sense of obligation.

That is, until this week when I tried (really tried) to read a book that is utterly boring and unrealistic. I had to stop reading.

Do you read everything all the way through or do you feel life really is too short to read bad books?


Don’t forget to leave a link to your actual response (so people don’t have to go searching for it) in the comments—or if you prefer, leave your answers in the comments themselves!

84 responses

  1. I will definitely lose interest and stop right there. There are just too many good books waiting for me. So why not pursue them 🙂

  2. Mine is here

  3. I feel like I’m in the minority- there’s still something to get out of bad books. Very nice question this week.

  4. […] What about you and your guilty conscience? Do you finish everything you start? Post your answer here or at Booking Through Thursday. […]

  5. Here’s my post. I can’t wait to see everyone’s answer to this one!

    http://eveningreader.wordpress.com/2009/11/12/btt-abandoning-bad-books/

  6. Yep, too short. My longer answer here.

  7. Today I’m #45. Tomorrow is my birthday and I’ll be 46.

    Here’s my entry

    http://readywhenyouarecb.blogspot.com/2009/11/btt-life-is-too-short-for-bad-books.html

  8. I was just thinking about this last night!

    Here’s my BTT answer.

  9. What an appropriate question for me this month.

    I used to be “Lynne’s Letters” but now I’ve got a separate book blog. Come and “follow” me, wontchya?

    Lynne’s Book Reviews

  10. I usually finish a book unless it’s vulgar. Breaking Dawn, the 4th book in the Twilight series was a killer for me. The first 100 or so pages were great but the last 500 or so I just about died. There’s been a few in book club I’ve had to force myself to read so that I could participate in the discussion.

  11. I don’t read every book to the very end. See why here.

  12. I do actually, but speed up reading something I don’t enjoy. Full answer is posted on my blog. 🙂

  13. I won’t waste my time on a book I’m enjoying any more. 🙂

  14. I’m definately one that will stop reading if I’m not enjoying the book. Why waste time on something you’re not enjoying?

    http://bookwormnation.blogspot.com/2009/11/booking-through-thursday.html

  15. from what I have understood

    reading a bad book could

    help you learn about your limit

    to reading something so insipid

    so does that make a bad book good?

  16. Have to finish everything I start, else it hurts my OCD. I’d like to think this makes me more selective, but it probably doesn’t… *sigh*.

  17. No guilt. I picked it up, I can put it down.

  18. Considering that my tagline is “For people who don’t have time to read bad books,” I have to say that I have managed to overcome my reluctance to quit a book before I’m finished. I used to share “Dreadful Penny’s” OCD, but now I agree with “Vanilla” – I picked it up, I can put it down. I don’t have time to read all the great books that call to me – why would I waste time on those that don’t really pan out?

  19. I have to finish, at least to make sure its a bad book all the way through, because then i’ll regret not knowing what happened…

