Discuss!

btt button

Suggested by Barbara H:

I was wanting to try a certain author and wished I knew someone who had read her works so I could get a recommendation when it occurred to me that having a “YOU ask the question” Booking Through Thursday might be fun. Each participant could ask a question they’ve wanted to discuss with other readers. Perhaps, like me, you’d like a recommendation of a certain author’s best work, or perhaps you LOVE a certain genre or series but no one else you know does and you’d just like to discuss it with someone. Or perhaps you want to try a new genre and would like recommendations from seasoned readers.

It would help if everyone put some idea of the question or topic in their response comment here rather than just saying, “My post is up” so that those who can’t get around to everyone can see what the topics are and get to those which most interest them.


Don’t forget to leave a link to your actual response (so people don’t have to go searching for it) in the comments—or if you prefer, leave your answers in the comments themselves!

45 responses

  1. This is really interesting.

    I’ve been the biggest Stephen King’s Fans in Indonesia…and not once I meet another fans😦

    I really really do want to discuss about his works…like which SK’s novel they like the most, Which one should they recommend to me….You know talk everything about Stephen King’s novel.

    Honestly speaking…I dream of having this kinda discussion for years.

  2. I’d like to discuss The Secrets of the Immortal Nicholas Flamel, The Hunger Games Trilogy. That’s why I started Cafe Blue. Right now we are discussion The Canterbury Tales, Everything by Jane Austen, and miscellaneous books. So If you like discussion, drop by.

    Here is my answer

  3. Nice topic.

    I really like sci-fi but up until recently only had a few people with whom to discuss authors and works. For that reason and a few others, in August I started a sci-fi reading challenge. I’m thrilled that a few who generally have an aversion to the genre are enjoying their reads while I get to further my own exploration.

  4. I would love recommendations for good Gothic-style reads. With the coming cold, windy and rainy season, I long to dive into a delicious, multi-layered read tinged with the supernatural.

  5. Thanks for using my question!🙂

    I’ve been wanting to try something written by Agatha Christie, probably either dealing with Miss Marple or Poirot, but I am open to anything else she has written.

    Do you like Agatha Christie? What do you like about her? Which of her novels would you recommend and why?

    http://barbarah.wordpress.com/2009/10/08/booking-through-thursday-discuss/

  6. Bluestocking, I tried to leave a comment on your blog, but a submit button failed to appear. Whether this has happened to other Firefox users I can only guess.

  7. My question is: Is there a book that, as a teenager, made you think differently from how you had thought before?

    http://readinginthenorth.blogspot.com/2009/10/booking-through-thursday-if-you-could.html

  8. There are a lot of book genres I don’t like pretty much on principle… if you like these books let me know why!

  9. I’m not big on Sci-fi/Fantasy, so convince me its good.
    http://writesthoughts.blogspot.com/2009/10/btt-discuss.html

  10. What a great BTT!

    I thought and thought and decided I would ask you all about reading the entire works of an autor or a series and the trappings and the delights of it all whilst getting you all to recommend more to me!

    http://savidgereads.wordpress.com/2009/10/08/read-the-whole-lot/

  11. Here’s my question and my link:

    Do you prefer online publications (newspapers, magazines, etc.) or reading devices like the Kindle to actual print?

    http://exileonninthstreet.wordpress.com/2009/10/08/booking-through-thursday-my-own-question/

  12. What a great question this week! Trying to decide whether I should read Wuthering Heights as well as other classics.

    http://bookwormnation.blogspot.com/2009/10/booking-through-thursday_08.html

  13. I’ve been looking for books that deal with the legalism and hypocrisy in the church, and how to move past that… so I’m asking for suggestions/recommendations here. Thanks!

    ~MizB

  14. […] Booking Through Thursday: Discuss! October 8, 2009 at 1:38 pm | In Book Blather | Leave a Comment Here is my question to readers, in response to this week’s Booking Through Thursday: […]

  15. Jessica Coleman

    Here’s mine. Do we feel competitive toward other readers?

    http://botheyes.wordpress.com/2009/10/08/booking-through-thursday-discuss/

  16. I decided to approach this as a feature of my favorite novel. Robin Maxwell’s The Tower Born because I have noticed that many people have not read it even though she is a popular historical fiction author. This book has stuck with me and I would love to see more people read it. Since Philippa Gregory’s novel “The White Queen” hit stores readers once again have become interested in the princes in the tower. I liked White Queen but loved The Tower Born more.

    I would like to read the series by Laurien Willig “The secret History of the Pink Carnation” series. I also was recently drawn into the Guenevere Novels by Rosalind Miles, which I have heard are really good.

    Here is my post:
    http://historicallyobsessed.blogspot.com/2009/10/booking-through-thursday-discuss.html

  17. […] in BTT, books, etc tagged thoughts at 1:55 pm by alitareads Barbara H suggested this week’s BTT topic: I was wanting to try a certain author and wished I knew someone who had read her works so I […]

  18. I love the twist this week!

    Today I’m talking about an author I haven’t read in a while, but who’s books I gobbled up: Michael Crichton.

  19. Looking for some advice on reading Somerset Maugham. Great meme, impressed by diversity of answers (well, questions.)

  20. Here’s mine, a little late. Just thinking about a place where I can find good discussion on deeper, funkier literature. Thoughts?

    http://iwriteinbooks.wordpress.com/2009/10/08/btt-booking-pondering/

  21. Suggest a book for me! Or tell me about a book you read that was totally out of your comfort zone.

    http://reviewsbylola.wordpress.com/2009/10/08/btt-create-your-own-question/

  22. I’m curious about people’s opinions on Clive Barker’s Abarat books (including losing fans over the long wait for the third book).

    http://downunderviews.com/blog/booking-through-thursday-discuss/

  23. Wow, I think this is the first meme I got to ask a question, HOORAY! (I feel special).

    I’d like to know what people do with all of their books once they’re finished reading them. Of course book reviewers do have more of a “problem” with excess books, but even if you’ve got a regular reading addiction feel free to participate!🙂
    (my post has an expanded version of this question so pls come and check it out!)

    http://www.delgalreviews.com

  24. I’ve been in a major nonfiction reading mode lately. Please help by either:

    — suggesting a novel that will jar me loose, or

    — suggesting a nonfiction book that knocked your socks off.
    (May as well feed the addiction…)

    Thank you!

    http://unrulyreader.blogspot.com/2009/10/booking-through-thursday-discuss.html

  25. Dean Koontz, Jeffery Deaver, Lincoln Child and Michael Connelly are recommended to me over and over again. Where to start? Do they write series books? Which one is the best?

    Any guidance would be appreciated here.

  26. Lately, I have found myself attracted to Jewish-American literature. If anyone has any suggestions, that would be fantastic! I mentioned similar works that I have reading on my post, here.

  27. About two years ago I discovered some new authors (to me) from the Outmoded Author Challenge. Elizabeth Bowen, May Sarton, and Malcolm Lowry to name a few. These authors are known for their crisp and literary prose. Although the occasionally mannered writing of the novels can leave the feeling quite dated, they are very observant of the characters. Consider most of these authors reached their height in the 1920s and 1930s, what do you recommend to me that bears the style of these authors?

  28. justabookreader

    Here’s mine this week. What would l like, vampire books! http://justbookreading.com/2009/10/08/booking-through-thursday-2/

  29. Does anyone know anything about Warwick Deeping? I own 5 books by him and can’t find any other books. He was a prolific writer. He wrote 60 novels.

    http://readbookswritepoetry.blogspot.com/2009/10/booking-through-discussion.html

  30. Here is mine…a bit late but still got it here!

    I was discussing how people like their historical fiction – stick to the facts fiction or just some history tossed in.🙂

    http://almostcrazymommy.blogspot.com/2009/10/booking-through-thursday-discuss.html

  31. I wrote about two books I love Courtesan by Diane Haeger and Queen of Camelot by Nancy McKenzie both of which I would love to discuss but havent found others who have read it

    http://literarydragon.blogspot.com/2009/10/booking-through-thursday.html#comments

  32. I posted my questions. I kind of went crazy with the questions. :-S

    1) Comfort Zones: What kind of book qualifies as being outside of your comfort zone? Do you ever read books outside of your comfort zone? Share a title of a book you read and enjoyed that is outside of your comfort zone.

    2) TBR Piles: Share the titles of five books in your TBR (books you actually have on hand) pile.

    3) Reading Count: My husband would like to know how many book you can actively read at once, not counting the books you’ve set aside to pick up again later.

    4) Recommendations: Can anyone recommend a good crime fiction novel that falls under the LGBT category?

  33. this is interesting, I would love to know what everyone reading about….

    Mine is about crime stories, true to life stories…

    http://thefishgate.blogspot.com/2009/10/discuss.html

  34. My questions:

    Any suggestions in the Bizarro literature category? AND does anyone know of any authors who write novels like the movies of David Lynch (especially Mulholland Drive and Lost Highway)?

    http://kristinsbookblog.blogspot.com/2009/10/booking-through-thursday.html

  35. Wonderful Idea.

    http://tinakubala.com/2009/10/09/lets-talk-about-books.aspx

    I named two genres and two authors. Science fiction and young adult. Margaret Atwood and Sherman Alexie.

    I can’t wait to see what everyone else wants to talk about.

    I’m available via Twitter @TinaKubala to talk books, or IM or whatever.

  36. […] 8, 2009 I was wanting to try a certain author and wished I knew someone who had read her works so I could […]

  37. OKie, late in posting here, but…

    My question is: What work redefined your reading experience?
    Mine, was reading Silk by Alessandro Baricco. Since then i’ve been trying to find anything that would match it for me, something that reads like poetry. Any suggestions?

    Here’s the link!

    http://bookviews.wordpress.com/2009/10/08/booking-through-thursday-redefining/

  38. Is anyone else a Angela Hunt fan? I love all her books. “Uncharted” really makes you think. And, the Fairlawn series you can learn alot about funeral homes.

  39. Thrillers are my Cup of Tea but I would love recommendations on some erotica with mystery or thriller a part.
    http://teawithmarce.blogspot.com/

  40. I’m so late….

    Thrillers are my cup of tea but I am wondering if anyone enjoys reading erotica? Have you read any thriller/mystery erotica, please recommend. I have one for you.

  41. http://breezey375.blogspot.com/2009/10/booking-through-thursday.html

    I guess I kind of would like to know how you fell in love with books and reading. What the first story you remember being read. I mean like a full book not a children’s story, unless you still love that story.
    and I’m later than anyone! But I wasn’t online last week so I have an excuse! Sort of!

  42. My question relates to the Read-a-thon:

    With the 24 Hour Read-a-thon coming up on October 24, I was wondering what are some of your best tips for staying alert during long periods of reading- besides lots of coffee.

    Or you can give me your best recommendation for a ‘fluff’ read (I like Sophie Kinsella) or an interesting audiobook.

