Fantasy and Sci-Fi

btt button

One of my favorite sci-fi authors (Sharon Lee) has declared June 23rd Fantasy and Science Fiction Writers Day.

As she puts it:

So! In my Official Capacity as a writer of science fiction and fantasy, I hereby proclaim June 23 Science Fiction and Fantasy Writers Day! A day of celebration and wonder! A day for all of us readers of science fiction and fantasy to reach out and say thank you to our favorite writers. A day, perhaps, to blog about our favorite sf/f writers. A day to reflect upon how written science fiction and fantasy has changed your life.

So … what might you do on the 23rd to celebrate? Do you even read fantasy/sci-fi? Why? Why not?


Don’t forget to leave a link to your actual response (so people don’t have to go searching for it) in the comments—or if you prefer, leave your answers in the comments themselves!

97 responses

  1. Here’s mine

    Happy Thursday everyone!!!

  2. Hi everyone (Deb)! I hope you have a good Thursday!

    Here Mine!

  3. I had fun answering this week’s question, so it took a while for me to post it. Mine is right over here.😀

  4. I’m up early this morning! I love fantasy so this was fun for me.

    http://chikune.com/blog/?p=1202

  5. Here is mine at my new blog…

    http://savidgereads.wordpress.com/2009/06/18/make-savidge-reads-more-sci-fi/

    Oh am I unlucky thirteen?

  6. Here ‘s mine: http://miscellaneousmumblings.blogspot.com/2009/06/booking-through-thursday-fantasy-and.html

    (There’s a rogue widget that occasionally runs slightly amok in IE so if that doesn’t work it’s currently the top post on the home page here http://miscellaneousmumblings.blogspot.com )

  7. Here’s mine! http://amyreads.com/?p=225

    This one was a little tough for me. . .I’m looking forward to seeing what other folks said!

  8. thebluestockingguide

    I love it!!!! I hope everyone comes to visit me on June 23rd. Here is mine

  9. My post is up. Happy BTT everyone!

  10. OMG! I finally made it for another BTT! Love the topic–here’s my post.

  11. I didn’t think I was that much of a reader of fantasy/sci-fi… until I started writing out my answer to today’s question! LOL.😛

    ~MizB

  12. […] Through Thursday: Sci-Fi Day? Sharon Lee, science fiction author, asks this week’s Booking Through Thursday question. So! In my Official Capacity as a writer of science fiction and fantasy, I hereby proclaim June 23 […]

  13. The 23rd sounds good to me. I love science fiction, and collect signed science fiction books.

  14. I am left we the odd notion that I must be missing something. My husband, father, and close friends are all avid fantasy/sci-fi readers. Yet other than an occasional book (that is more exception than rule) I don’t enjoy the genre.

    Hmmm…

  15. Here’s my answer. It appears that Sci-fi/Fantasy is one of my fave genres after all!
    http://mastermusingsbymichelle.blogspot.com/2009/06/booking-throught-thursday.html

  16. At first I thought, I don’t really read fantasy or sci-fi but when I sat down to write my post, I realized that wasn’t the case!

    My post is here!

  17. […] View original post here: Fantasy and Sci-Fi « Booking Through Thursday […]

  18. […]  What about you? Join in at Booking through Thursday. […]

  19. […] 18, 2009 at 11:55 am | In Book Blather | Leave a Comment Here is my response to this week’s Booking Through Thursday: One of my favorite sci-fi authors (Sharon Lee) has declared June 23rd Fantasy and Science Fiction […]

  20. uncertainprinciples

    That’s ME

    Happy Thursday, everyone:)

  21. […] It has been awhile since I participated in Booking Through Thursday but I could not resist this one. This week’s Booking Through Thursday: […]

  22. […] Booking Through Thursday – Sharon Lee has declared June 23rd Fantasy and Science Fiction Writers Day, what might you […]

  23. Just found this site. Looks good. You’ll find my first attempt at the end of this post:

    http://beyondtheblog.wordpress.com/2009/06/19/tony-on-superstition

    Enjoy.

  24. My comments on SF, and my list of favourite SF writers, and my plans for next Tuesday:
    http://fajrdrako.dreamwidth.org/1173026.html

  25. Fantastic topic! Here’s my three cents.

  26. I love fantasy and the occassional sci-fi.

  27. Science fiction today is goes hi-tech today, So we expect more trilling and animated movie in the future.

  28. Science fiction today is going hi-tech , So we expect more trilling and animated movie in the future.Some of my best pick movie is Harry Potter

  29. […] 18, 2009 in Bookish Notes | by Christina This week’s question asks:  One of my favorite sci-fi authors (Sharon Lee) has declared June 23rd Fantasy and […]

