Doomsday

btt button

One of my favorite bookstores burned down last weekend, and while I only got to visit there while I was on vacation, it made me stop and think.

What would you do if, all of a sudden, your favorite source of books was unavailable?

Whether it’s a local book shop, your town library, or an internet shop … what would you do if, suddenly, they were out of business? Devastatingly, and with no warning? Where would you go for books instead? What would you do? If it was a local business you would try to help out the owners? Would you just calmly start buying from some other store? Visit the library in the next town instead? Would it be devastating? Or just a blip in your reading habit?


Don’t forget to leave a link to your actual response (so people don’t have to go searching for it) in the comments—or if you prefer, leave your answers in the comments themselves!

72 responses

  1. Wow, that’s sad. I really hope no one was hurt.

    Here’s mine. It’s a bit short today.🙂

  2. I hope that won’t happen to me!

    Here’s mine.

  3. My sympathies, that sucks!
    Mine’s here.

  4. I’d have a hard time without the Internet

  5. I’m really sorry about the fire. Such a terrible loss. But it inspired a very interesting topic. My answer’s up.

    http://jlshall.blogspot.com/2008/07/booking-through-thursday-doomsday.html

  6. Mine’s up!

    cjh

  7. Can’t wait to hear what the others have to say on this one!

    Here’s my response:
    http://shouldbereading.wordpress.com/2008/07/10/btt-doomsday/

    MizB

  8. I’m up!

    http://readerville.wordpress.com/2008/07/10/btt-my-favorite-bookstore/

    This one made me sad but also very thankful for such a fantastic favorite place.

  9. Wow! I haven’t played BTT in forever!!
    Great question today.
    Mine is posted here!

    Happy Thursday!😀

  10. thekoolaidmom

    Interesting question, my answer is In the Shadow of Mt. TBR.

  11. I’ve finally done a BTT meme! I’m a proper bookblogger now! Or at least I would be if I could stop reading long enough to update more…

    http://madwomansattic.wordpress.com/2008/07/10/in-response-to-booking-through-thursdays-question/

  12. I am posted for today: http://shaycv.blogspot.com/2008/07/booking-through-thursday-doomsday.html

    The local bookstore recently became a Pawn Shop, and it still has books but it is not the same. I would not be devastated if the book store, library or internet shop burned down because there are always other places to go for books. Even Wal Mart sells books (not that great in quality but at least they have books). I would look online for books, go to a different town and look for other stores to purchase from. I would be sad if my favorite place was gone but not to the point that I would stop reading🙂

  13. Here’s my response. Happy BTT, everyone!

  14. That is really sad. =/ I hope the owners can get back on their feet somehow.

    Here is my response for the week. I am reliant on the internet!

  15. Mine is posted here

    Thanks, Deb – good topic. Sorry about the bookstore burning, that’s so sad. This gave me a chance to appreciate all the options I have here in Portland.

  16. http://www.monniblog.com/2008/07/10/no-more-books/

    A similar thing happened to my local used bookstore! Sorry to hear about your loss.

  17. I actually had more of an opinion about this than I thought I would.🙂 Here’s mine!

  18. unfinishedperson

    Strangely, before I read this, I learned, or thought I had learned that our local bookstore was going to close. To see if doomsday is around the corner for me or if there was a reprieve, check here.

    P.S. I’m sorry to hear Deb about the store. I’m just glad to no one was seriously injured, and that the store’s owner is planning to rebuild. I’ll be back later tonight or tomorrow to read as many responses as I can…for now, time to go offline since I’ve got a semi-wicked headache.

  19. so sorry to hear that. I hope everyone is fine and safe.

    It’s my first time to play along….here’s mine:

    http://thefishgate.blogspot.com/2008/07/doomsday.html

  20. Happy BTTs everyone (Hi Deb!) ! I hope everyone have a good day!

    Here Mine!

  21. I’m very lucky and grateful to be living one of the most well-read cities full of independent bookstores, used bookstores, and bookstores that stuck up the niche market. Bookstores cater to all genres of literature can be found here so I can always go to other vendors if one goes down (hope it won’t ever happen). But recently we lost Cody’s, which closed its door after half a century due to financial strait. On my way to work and home I usually stop by at least two bookstores and compare their new book tables. I haven’t purchased many books online because I would prefer to support the local independent booksellers.

  22. Well….I am not sure my answer is good….but I am HOSTING TWO GIVEAWAYS!!!!! enter now!

    http://exlibrisbb.blogspot.com/2008/07/doomsday-2-giveaways.html

  23. My response is up!

    How terrible about the fire! How devastating for the owners and employees of the bookstore! I am thinking of them.

  24. Here’s my response. It made me a little sad to think about destroyed or defunct book places. :o(
    http://thebluestockings.com/2008/07/booking-through-thursday-14/

  25. Here is my post. I am so sorry to hear about your book shop. It must be devasting!

  26. What a terrible tragedy. A burning bookstore! I wish the owners and the town a quick recovery and hope no one was hurt.
    My response to this scary scenario is up.

  27. Booking Through Thursday on Friday is up!

    Sorry to hear about your favorite bookstore, Deb!

  28. OK, I didn’t know that there *was* such a thing as ‘BTT’ until Deb came over to visit my blog, where I had written a similar post.
    http://www.booksonthenightstand.com/2008/07/what-does-your-bookstore-mean-to-you.html

    But expanding on that … I work with local bookstores almost every day of the week. Every store is different, and each store has its own strengths. But one thing that they all have in common is a passionate desire to see good books in the hands of their customers. I have yet to meet a truly mercenary bookseller, who values profits over all else. Good thing, because there aren’t a lot of profits to be had. In this I think it is a retail business unlike most others, and it shows in the place that bookstores have in their communities.

  29. http://thekea.wordpress.com/2008/07/12/booking-through-thursday-what-would-you-do-if/

    i’m late! i’m late!
    i’m very very late!😀
    but it’s up now!

  30. I’m later than you, Steph!
    What a terrible question to consider. Here is what I thought.

  31. […] heh. I actually missed last week’s Booking Through Thursday question, so I thought I would answer it now before I answer this week’s question gets […]

  32. I’m late, but here is my post.

  33. […] – bookmarked by 6 members originally found by pretb23 on 2008-11-10 Doomsday https://btt2.wordpress.com/2008/07/10/doomsday/ – bookmarked by 3 members originally found by […]

