Flavor

btt button

Think about your favorite authors, your favorite books . . . what is it about them that makes you love them above all the other authors you’ve read? The stories? The characters? The way they appear to relish the taste of words on the tongue? The way they’re unafraid to show the nitty-gritty of life? How they sweep you off to a new, distant place? What is it about those books and authors that makes them resonate with you in ways that other, perfectly good books and authors do not?

Don’t forget to leave a link to your actual response (so people don’t have to go searching for it) in the comments—or if you prefer, leave your answers in the comments themselves!

70 responses

  1. Happy BTT everyone! It’s a rainy Thursday afternoon where I’m at.🙂

    Here’s mine.

  2. its been a long time since I participated.

    i enjoyed answering this one. mine is in here!

  3. Happy BTTs everyone ( Hi Deb!) Hope you have a good Thursday!

    href=”http://juliasbookscorner.blogspot.com/2008/06/flavor.html”>Here Mine!

  4. OOPs! The link didn’t work. Click the link below instead

    Here Mine!

  5. Great question mine is up here

    http://notenoughbookshelves.blogspot.com/2008/06/btt-flavor.html

    Happy Thursday Everyone!

  6. Thank you for the prompt!
    My response is here.

  7. […] week’s Booking Through Thursday question asks what it is about certain authors that makes us love them: Think about your favorite […]

  8. Love this question. My answer here.

  9. Yay, it’s Thursday! Here is my response.

  10. hey YO!! here you go:
    http://exlibrisbb.blogspot.com/2008/06/btt-flavor.html

    and as always, leave a comment get a comment🙂

    (make sure I have your blog address if there is no link on your comment to it)

  11. Once again, I’ll note my answer here rather than in my blog.

    The books that stand out in my mind are those that came at the perfect time in my life — they rang true to me on a heart level. And now, like certain smells that send me back in time, the memory of these books evokes a particular time in my life. These books differ in genre, prose stylings and excellence, and themes.

    Sylvia Plath’s “The Bell Jar” makes the list because I read it right after college when I lived abroad and was homesick. Margaret Atwood’s “Cat’s Eye” makes the list because it hit me over the head with the universality of its mean-girl-peer-politics theme just at the time I was trying to figure this stuff out. Daphne du Maurier’s “Rebecca” holds a special place in my heart because it’s the first book I remember my mother saying she loved, and then I loved it, too.

    It’s like that for me, for books. Some books like Ian McEwan’s “Atonement” and Diana Abu-Jaber’s “Crescent” are beautifully written literature and deserve to be on anyone’s list. However, I maintain that if I hadn’t read them at the perfect moment for me, they wouldn’t have landed on my favorites list. These books, for example, have an underlying sadness to them, a kind of nostalgia. I read them after my dad died.

  12. Happy Thursday everyone! Mine is up. You can reach me at http://charliandme.blogspot.com/

  13. I always feel a little drained after having to come up with favorites. Here’s mine:
    http://thebluestockings.com/2008/06/booking-through-thursday-11/

  14. […] BTT question this week is: Think about your favorite authors, your favorite books . . . what is it about them that makes […]

  15. Interesting question. I enjoy the ones that involve lots of thinking!

    http://idahogalsrants.blogspot.com/2008/06/btt-flavor.html

  16. […] Thursday: What makes your favorite your favorites? Jump to Comments This week’s Booking Through Thursday questions: Think about your favorite authors, your favorite books . . . what is it about them that […]

  17. Here is mine, although it looks like it might already have posted anyway right above this.

  18. […] 19, 2008 in 5. Thirsty ThursdayTags: Booking Through Thursday, Books This week’s Booking Through Thursday questions: Think about your favorite authors, your favorite books . . . what is it about them that […]

  19. thisredheadreads

    Mine’s up!

    See my answerHere’s mine.

  20. My answers this week. It was a great question🙂

  21. It’s been ages since I participated in my own meme, which is shameful, don’t you think?

    So, here’s mine!

    http://chappysmom.com/2008/06/19/btt-flavor/

  22. […] that makes them resonate with you in ways that other, perfectly good books and authors do not? [Posted on […]

  23. I’m up- quite something to ponder!

  24. […] in Uncategorized at 11:04 pm by islandeditions This week, the question at Booking Through Thursday […]

  25. thekoolaidmom

    Thank you! I just found out about this yesterday. It’s a cool idea. Now I’ve got something for Sunday, Tuesday and Thursday… now just need something for the other four days.😀

    Anyway… In the Shadow of Mt. TBR – http://thekoolaidmom.wordpress.com/2008/06/22/booking-through-thursday-flavor/

  26. […] Booking Through Thursday has regained its stride, I’d say. […]

  27. […] Thursday, I participated in this week’s Booking Through Thursday and since then, I have not posted anything here until this […]

