Mayday!

btt button

Quick! It’s an emergency! You just got an urgent call about a family emergency and had to rush to the airport with barely time to grab your wallet and your passport. But now, you’re stuck at the airport with nothing to read. What do you do??

And, no, you did NOT have time to grab your bookbag, or the book next to your bed. You were . . . grocery shopping when you got the call and have nothing with you but your wallet and your passport (which you fortuitously brought with you in case they asked for ID in the ethnic food aisle). This is hypothetical, remember….

Don’t forget to leave a link to your actual response (so people don’t have to go searching for it) in the comments—or if you prefer, leave your answers in the comments themselves!

And also–Don’t forget, folks–sometimes WordPress’s spam filter seems to decide that a lot of perfectly valid answers are spam. I periodically check throughout the day for lost comments. But, PLEASE–if your comment doesn’t show, don’t post it four more times in the hopes that one of them will go through. If WordPress thinks you’re spamming, it’s not going to put any of them through until I tell it, and by then, I’ve got four times more comments to go through than I would have had….

116 responses

  1. Did I really make it in first! One advantage of being Australian I guess🙂

  2. This one was easy! My answer is up here

  3. Actually, at an airport I almost always buy a huge pile of magazines – practically the only time I do read ’em. I don’t know why. It’s just an essential part of the travel experience. I don’t even bother to pack books in my carry-on!

  4. thatsthebook

    My post is up:

    http://thatsthebook.wordpress.com/2008/05/01/booking-through-thursday-8-mayday/

    Happy Thursday everyone and don’t let this ever happen to you ;)!

  5. This is my first Booking Through Thursday. Glad to join the discussion! http://www.reid-family.org/rebeccareads/?p=20

  6. Seeing as I spend half my life in airports, I’m usually prepared, but here’s my answer!
    http://troubles-melt-like-lemon-drops.blogspot.com/2008/05/booking-through-thursday.html

  7. http://peter1968.livejournal.com/19274.html

    And if you get carded for buying *food* where you are, it’s time to move to a freer place. =)

  8. Mine is so boring but so are airports!! Thank goodness I don’t travel for a living —

  9. Mine’s posted.

    Happy Thursday!🙂

  10. […] Click here to see who else is participating in Booking Through Thursday! […]

  11. Don’t forget, folks–sometimes WordPress’s spam filter seems to decide that a lot of perfectly valid answers are spam. I periodically check throughout the day for lost comments. But, PLEASE–if your comment doesn’t show, don’t post it four more times in the hopes that one of them will go through. If WordPress thinks you’re spamming, it’s not going to put any of them through until I tell it, and by then, I’ve got four times more comments to go through than I would have had….

  12. Oh it has been too long since I have participated in this wonderful meme!!!! Here is mine:

    What Would You Do?

  13. They usually have a shop that sells books and magazines somewhere in the airport. That’s where I’d go, they must have *something* I’d be interested in reading. If not, out with the trusty palm to play games.😛

  14. You can find my answer at http.//www.charlandme.blogspot.com/ Have a great week….

  15. Mine is up. Happy BTT.🙂

  16. […] Through Thursday: MAYDAY! Posted on May 1, 2008 by lisamm Mayday! May 1, […]

  17. Easy answer for me today.

    (Leaving off my link ’cause for some reason my comment won’t work if my link’s included… whatever.)

  18. It’s been a few weeks since I participated–Thursday always seems to sneak up on me!🙂

    http://nathanandbecca.com/becca/?p=469

  19. Here’s mine!

    Happy Thursday, everyone!

  20. I’m participating for the very first time. What fun! Here’s mine: BTT – Mayday!

  21. Mine’s up! Hope everyone has a great day!

    http://www.sugarfused.net/?p=4565

  22. Great question. Mine’s up.

  23. I’ve given my answer, here:

    http://mosmind.blogspot.com/2008/05/practiced-response.html

    Have a great weekend, y’all!

  24. http://shaycv.blogspot.com/2008/05/booking-through-thursday-mayday.html

    Well, since I have my wallet with me then I must have cash or credit cards with me. So, I would find a nice shop that has books and/or crossword puzzle books and purchase a few. Maybe I will finally get in some relax time🙂

  25. Thanks for another good question. Happy BTT, everyone!

  26. Good afternoon everyone (hi Deb!)

    I hope you have a good Thursday!

    Here Mine!

    Julia-Yen

  27. Mine’s up and I’ve even remembered to come here and post the fact.

    This was another great question.

    cjh

  28. This is my first booking through thursday- fun question, although I didn’t do much “booking”….. Thanks!

    http://womanenough.wordpress.com/2008/05/01/booking-through-thursday/

  29. […] BTT question this week is: Quick! It’s an emergency! You just got an urgent call about a family emergency and had to […]

  30. Something like this happened to me the other day so I’ve related my experience! Answere here:
    http://sparklya.blogspot.com/2008/05/airport-emergency-what-to-read.html

  31. I immediately head into withdrawal, tremors wrack my body and desperation sets in when I realize that I’m bookless. Only by heading to the closest book seller at the airport and surrounding myself with “friends” does the recovery process start. If I happen to be reading a current best seller I’ll simply replace it. I have no problem buying a 2nd copy as it’s for a good cause. If I can’t replace my current reading selection I will start seeking out favorite authors in hopes that I can find a treasure in the form a book that I haven’t read yet. If no replacement copy or favorite author I’ll take a chance on a new-to-me author that I’ve been wanting to try and just haven’t gotten around to due the towering TBR piles that have taken over my home office. As a last resort I’ll buy a magazine. I can’t leave empty handed. I must have something to read.

  32. A true story about this here.

  33. I’m up. Now I want a trip (but only for a good reason – no emergencies, please). http://eaca.blogspot.com/2008/05/booking-through-thursday-mayday-quick.html

  34. fun question today!

  35. I’m #100? Whoohoo! Iron Man distracted me.

    Here’s mine🙂

  36. Mine’s
    here – first one I’ve done for a wee while.

  37. I played today for the first time in a very long time. It’s here.

  38. Oops. Scratch that. It’s here. Sorry about that!

  39. Here’s my response…

    Linky Linky

  40. I’m a day late! Oops!
    Here’s my answer. :o)

  41. Mine is up, so it must be Friday🙂.

    Have a great weekend, everyone!

  42. I meant to post mine yesterday, but was upgrading wordpress….

    Here’s mine: http://mommyreads.com/?p=60

    I hope you can visit me…it’s so lonely in my corner.

  43. I’m quite airport savvy now… and never under-estimate duty free!
    http://www.monniblog.com/2008/05/02/quick-to-the-airport/

  44. My first time posting…but I love reading along.

