And, the Nominees Are….

btt button

  1. What fiction book (or books) would you nominate to be the best new book published in 2007?
    (Older books that you read for the first time in 2007 don’t count.)
  2. What non-fiction book (or books) would you nominate to be the best new book published in 2007?
    (Older books that you read for the first time in 2007 don’t count.)
  3. And, do “best of” lists influence your reading?


Don’t forget to leave a link to your actual response (so people don’t have to go searching for it) in the comments—or if you prefer, leave your answers in the comments themselves!

52 responses

  1. Not many nominations from me, but here’s my reply:

    BTT: Best of 2007.

  2. I’m up early today. Gotta get to work!! Check it out at http://stephaniesbooks.blogspot.com/!!

  3. Here’s mine!

    Happy Thursday before Christmas!

  4. Ok … I’m up too!

  5. Hi there,
    here is mine:
    http://downstowngirl.blogspot.com/2007/12/booking-through-thursday-and-nominees.html
    What do you think about putting up a Mr. Linky? It’s just so fast and convenient.
    P.S. Check out the memes I am hosting. They are listed on the sidebar.

  6. Interesting question this week, and I’m sure the answers will be too! Mine are here:
    http://pendvasq-readingritingandrandomness.blogspot.com/2007/12/booking-through-thursday-12-20-best-of.html

    Happy BTT – and if you’re celebrating next Tuesday, Merry Christmas!

  7. Here’s mine.

    http://web.mac.com/ann163125/Table_Talk/Table_Talk_Blog/Entries/2007/12/20_Booking_Through_Thursday_The_Best_of_2007.html

    Now I’m going to go visiting and make up a list for next year’s reading from sources I trust.

  8. i haven’t played for several weeks, but i’ve got a post up for this one: http://books4alison.blogspot.com/2007/12/best-of-2007.html. i’m anxious to read everyone else’s lists!

  9. Here is my answer http://litdetective.canalblog.com/archives/2007/12/20/7302841.html#comments
    And i’ll try to see the other answers later to see so that I’ll be sure to have a list of books to order for Christmas;o)

  10. geraniumcat and alisonwonderland: I can’t follow your link from here. Something’s wonky.

  11. New fiction – “Blood Bound”, Patricia Briggs.

    List effect: Yes – they help me review new titles. If I see a known author I consider how the author ranks for me, and potentially decide to look for the title for myself.

    There were other new titles out this year, including ‘Shattered States’ by Susan R. Matthews, and the new Lee and Miller Liaden book. I cherish the authors, and the latest books were good – but the latest works didn’t feel up to their best.

    Blood Bound is a light, fast paced book, fanciful as all get out. Mercedes (Mercy) is likeable, a very tiny bit larger than life. And she can become a coyote. This is the second book in this setting, and is a really good read.

  12. I always seem to be a year or two behind in reading the “newest” releases. I do recall reading three books this year that I believe are 2007 books: Away by Amy Bloom, Positively False by Floyd Landis, and A Thousand Splendid Suns by Khaled Hosseini. Of the three, ATSS was my favorite! All three were very good reads, though!

  13. Hi everyone and Deb!,

    sorry so late! I hope it okay for me to still participate this week. Here Mine!

    Julia – Yen

  14. My second reply to this meme!🙂 I counted the nominations for the different books. You can take a look at the list of the most nominated books here:

    Best of 2007: The Nominees.

