Oh, Horror!

btt button

What with yesterday being Halloween, and all . . . do you read horror? Stories of things that go bump in the night and keep you from sleeping?

I thought about asking you about whether you were participating in NaNoWriMo, but I asked that last year. Although . . . if you want to answer that one, too, please feel free to go ahead and do both, or either, your choice!

Donโ€™t forget to leave a link to your actual response (so people don’t have to go searching for it) in the commentsโ€”or if you prefer, leave your answers in the comments themselves!

70 responses

  1. Hope you all had a happy Halloween! Here’s mine.

  2. Happy Belated Halloween (Hi Deb!) to everyone! I hope you had great time trick or treating with your kids or going to costumes party๐Ÿ™‚

    Here Mine!

  3. Here’s mine: http://justaddfur.livejournal.com/4676.html
    It’s the first time I’ve done one of these.๐Ÿ™‚

  4. Yes! I am participating in NaMoWriMo!
    http://islandeditions.wordpress.com/2007/10/24/nanowrimo/
    As for horror, I don’t read it and don’t like horror movies – they cause me to have too many nightmares! I do remember staying up all night, when I was a teenager, reading “Rosemary’s Baby.” But the closest I get to horror any more is watching “Shaun of the Dead” in which the sight of oozing blood is tempered with laughter.
    Must get to work on my month-long novel…

  5. Hey there! Here’s mine. Happy BTT!

  6. I had to watch Pulp Fiction through my fingers … my reply is here:
    http://www.writinglifeandtheuniverse.blogspot.com/
    the 1 November post.

  7. Hi all, mine’s a double edition today because I did not participate last week — was out of town.

    HAPPY BTT!๐Ÿ˜€

  8. http://xinef.livejournal.com/160987.html

    I don’t like horror books or horror movies, so no, I don’t read them.

    Not participating in NaNoWriMo either, I’m not a fiction writer. Hated creative writing classes in school. Just love reading what others write!

  9. Mine’s posted๐Ÿ™‚ (click on my name)

  10. Here’s mine.
    Happy Thursday everyone!๐Ÿ™‚

  11. Mine is up now: http://nanashi-inc.net/weblog/2007/btt-oh-horror/

    Happy BTT! I hope everyone had a fun Halloween.๐Ÿ™‚

  12. Mine is up here๐Ÿ™‚

    Have a great day, everyone!

  13. […] This week’s meme: What with yesterday being Halloween, and all . . . do you read horror? Stories of things that go bump in the night and keep you from sleeping? […]

  14. Where I am it’s not quite Thursday any more, but better slightly late than never! My answer is here.

  15. I’m not a fan of horror. My short response is here:
    http://bookinhand.blogspot.com/2007/11/oh-horror.html

  16. […] Horror! Booking Through Thursday Oh, Horror! November 1, […]

  17. Hi! I’m new around here, and i’d like to meet some people. You can find my answer here http://litdetective.canalblog.com/archives/2007/11/01/6740891.html

    Bye

  18. […] Eaglehawk on Nov 1, 2007 What with yesterday being Halloween, and all . . . do you read horror? Stories of things that go bum… I’ve tried several times to read horror books, but I just cannot. It is not that I cannot get […]

  19. Greetings everyone! Here’s my answer: Oh, the Horror!

  20. Yes I read horror. I also read kids books that are Halloween themed. And I’m doing Nanowrimo.

    My full answer is here.

  21. Here’s mine!

    I hope all of you had a wonderful Halloween.

  22. Hope everyone had a happy Halloween.

    Here is mine!

  23. My quick answer? No, I need my sleep at night. And, besides, I think you filter the world through your experiences, and I like to keep mine as rosy and positive as possible! (grin)

  24. Mine is here … imagine the sound of chickens clucking in the background …

    http://the-ravelld-sleave.blogspot.com/2007/11/oh-horror.html

  25. Mine is up, have a great weekend everyone!

  26. I’m up! Happy BTT!

  27. Mine’s up. Good question this week (but then again, they all are)

  28. Geez. How could I forget it’s Thursday? Thank goodness for Google Reader.

    Read my response.

  29. […] Yesterday’s Booking through Thursday asked how many people read horror, and I was very surprised to see most of the respondents narrowly define horror as gross-out horror. I suppose I shouldn’t have been—this has been a long-standing problem for horror authors, and one which I’ve been quite aware of as a horror writer in the past—but it’s been a long time since I wrote horror and so I’d largely forgotten about the issue. […]

  30. Hi! I’m new here. Nice blog,Deb!๐Ÿ™‚

    My answer’s here. Kinda late, but at least I finished it before next Thursday’s question.๐Ÿ˜‰

  31. […] Another good one from the good folk at Booking Through Thursday! […]

