Booking Through Thursday

A weekly meme about (mostly) books and reading.

Giving Up August 26, 2010

Filed under: Wordpress — --Deb @ 1:29 am

btt button

If you’re not enjoying a book, will you stop mid-way? Or do you push through to the end? What makes you decide to stop?

Don’t forget to leave a link to your actual response (so people don’t have to go searching for it) in the comments—or if you prefer, leave your answers in the comments themselves!

 

63 Responses to “Giving Up”

  1. tahliaN Says:

    Usually I’ll try to get to the end, maybe skimming bits, but I just threw one aside in disgust. ‘Halo.’ I can’t believe this got published. My daughter liked the cover, so we bought it, but it is sooooooo boring, unimaginative, has the most incredibly streroptyped characters ever and is totally predictable. The teenagers I know will say, this author is trying to ram her religion down their throats – no subtlety there at all. My daughter gave up before me – the people are all goody goodies, she said, and if they’ve come to get rid of evil in the world, why did they pick a sleepy little town. The whole thing doesn’t work.

  2. I can’t possibly be the first to leave a response this week. That never happens.

    In any case, my response is here.

  3. (And see, I wasn’t but still…among the first few. )

  4. My Booking Through Thursday is here!!!

  5. CMash Says:

    Here is my BTT.
    CMash

  6. Kristin Says:

    Great question.

    Here’s my answer.

  7. [...] “Booking Through Thursday” asks: If you’re not enjoying a book, will you stop mid-way? Or do you push through to the end? [...]

  8. Irishcoda Says:

    Good question! Mine is up and basically, I’m handling things differently this year than I have in others because I signed up for reading challenges.

  9. Ladytink_534 Says:

    I recently struggled with two books so great question!

    Here’s my answer: http://ladytinksblog.blogspot.com/2010/08/btt-giving-up.html

  10. Kat Says:

    Yeah. I usually stop reading. Before I tried to push myself to finishing it but I couldn’t get myself to really go through it when I really didn’t like it anymore.

    I usually stop because I get bored with it. Maybe the pacing’s too slow, or the story development isn’t good, or the characters are shallow and under developed. Sometimes it’s as simple as the author’s writing style not being my type, or he/she has too much errors (never mind if they call it style), even if the premise or plot’s good, I’d just set the book aside. :)

  11. Kathy Martin Says:

    You can see my response here. Happy reading!

  12. Alayne Says:

    I would stop if it were really awful. Otherwise I’d try to push through. I pushed through a difficult beginning on my last read, Burning Silk by Destiny Kinal, and was totally rewarded because the book was amazing! My review is at The Crowded Leaf.

  13. [...] out other answers here. And here is how we’re Booking Through Thursday this [...]

  14. DanielleAtHome? Says:

    Here’s my response and what we’re reading this week: http://danielleathome.wordpress.com/2010/08/26/booking-through-thursday-2/

  15. Beverly Says:

    This is a great question! Here is my answer! Happy reading!

  16. Can a book shift to match a mood? Or is it the other way around?

    Find out here at http://historicalfictionnotebook.blogspot.com/2010/08/booking-through-thursday.html

  17. Ellie Says:

    Here’s mine for this week – spookily timed, since I don’t give up on books very often, but gave up on ‘Pet Sematary’ with some relief this afternoon… Not good when you daren’t go back to a book in case you vomit/don’t sleep for a month/put yourself in therapy!

    http://musingsofabookshopgirl.blogspot.com/2010/08/booking-through-thursday-6-giving-up-on.html

  18. [...] – Giving Up August 26, 2010 Hannah Leave a comment Go to comments This weeks Booking Through Thursday asks: If you’re not enjoying a book, will you stop mid-way? Or do you push through to the end? [...]

  19. Hannah Says:

    I really like this question and it’s something I find my self discussing quite a bit. Here’s my answer:

    http://amongstories.wordpress.com/2010/08/26/btt-giving-up/

  20. Matthew Says:

    Either 50 pages or halfway depending on the size of book. Full scoop is up. :)

  21. sara Says:

    This is very similar to the question form May 6th….my answer is still the same though!!
    http://readandbead.blogspot.com/2010/08/booking-through-thursday-giving-up.html

  22. I almost never give up on a book entirely. Sometimes I’ll put it down, come back to it later, and zoom right through. I guess I was in a different mood, or something.

  23. --Deb Says:

    Yes, this meme has been going for several years now. Sometimes there’s going to be some overlap between questions. Sometimes that’s accidental, but sometimes it’s deliberate to give the newcomers a chance to “play,” too. I do try not to ask the exact same question, but … similarities WILL arise!

  24. I will try really hard to get through a book, but if it is really that bad….I chuck it. There are so many great reads still out there, I would rather move on to the next on my list.

  25. Barbara H. Says:

    I didn’t answer this time — just had this question on the meme last week and I think we’ve had it before, too.


Comments are closed.

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 397 other followers