Booking Through Thursday

A weekly meme about (mostly) books and reading.

Reviewed June 24, 2010

Filed under: Wordpress — --Deb @ 1:29 am

btt button

Do you read book reviews? Do you let them change your mind about reading/not reading a particular book?


Don’t forget to leave a link to your actual response (so people don’t have to go searching for it) in the comments—or if you prefer, leave your answers in the comments themselves!

 

55 Responses to “Reviewed”

  1. Zia Says:

    Great question! Here’s my answer this week.

  2. melydia Says:

    My TBR pile is so huge that I don’t tend to go out of my way to read book reviews, just in case it’ll entice me to read even more, but sometimes I do like to read reviews of books I’ve already read, just to see how other people’s opinions compare with mine.

  3. My answer is posted here
    CMash

  4. pandabox33 Says:

    I used to read them but I tend to choose books that appeal to me no matter what reviews I read. If I am not sure about a book, a review might make me take it or not. More not. But if I really want to read something, I prefer not to read reviews, that way I have no prejudice or there are no spoilers.

  5. Alayne Says:

    Fun question! My answer is at The Crowded Leaf.

  6. MizB Says:

    http://shouldbereading.wordpress.com/2010/06/24/btt-reviews/

    My long-winded answer (had to cover all of the bases, ya know). ;)

    ~MizB

  7. Lynn Says:

    My answer is here. I think it makes sense — I had to cut out some if/maybe/sometimes tangents which were steering my post away from the question :)

  8. Li Says:

    Here’s my response for this week: http://www.rulethewaves.net/blog/?p=1637

  9. Lori Says:

    I will be curious to read what other people posted. Here’s mine. Good question.

  10. Mish Says:

    Book reviews have introduced me to a lot of good books I wouldn’t have been aware of otherwise. They’re part of the reason my TBR pile is so high. It’s very rare that a review will change my mind about reading a book, but I’m more likely to listen to a reviewer whose tastes I know well and who knows mine. I may like it for reasons a reviewer didn’t and vice versa.

  11. Marce Says:

    I will enjoy reading the responses to this one.

    Here is mine.

    http://teawithmarce.blogspot.com/2010/06/booking.html

  12. Amanda Says:

    Here’s mine!

    Happy readings!

  13. Tim Says:

    Mine is up, too.

  14. [...] I haven’t answered a Booking Through Thursday question in awhile (some have been over at Rocks ‘n Reads, if you don’t have my quiet [...]

  15. The timing of this question couldn’t be more perfect!

    http://westofmars.com/2010/06/24/btt-reviewed/

  16. Fiona Says:

    Here’s mine: http://thebookcoop.blogspot.com/2010/06/booking-through-thursday.html

    So tired atm will read everyone else’s later on.

  17. tahliaN Says:

    They do if the person reviewing has shown me that they like the same sort of books that I do.

  18. Shelley Says:

    In order to keep my sanity as I put my work up on the Internet, I read only book reviews written by Randall Jarrell. May he rest in peace.

  19. Bev Says:

    I read reviews in blogs and those left through Virtual Bookshelf in FaceBook. But I rarely let a review make or break a book choice for me. Usually, I’m just curious to see what a blogger has said in their reviews or, in the case of FB, I tend to see the reviews when I’m entering a book in my “Read” list. It’s a little late then. The “reviews” that mean the most to me are those given to me by friends who know my reading tastes. If one of those folks tells me that a book is good, I’ll probably put it on my “to be read” list.

  20. sara Says:

    Negative reviews rarely stop me from reading a book I am really interested in! Here’s my full answer: http://readandbead.blogspot.com/2010/06/booking-through-thursday-book-reviews.html

  21. darkeva Says:

    My full answer can be found here for this week: http://thedarkeva.com/?p=395


Comments are closed.

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 417 other followers