Booking Through Thursday

A weekly meme about (mostly) books and reading.

Best October 2, 2008

Filed under: Wordpress — --Deb @ 1:38 am

btt button

What, in your opinion, is the best book that you haven’t liked? Mind you, I don’t mean your most-hated book–oh, no. I mean the most accomplished, skilled, well-written, impressive book that you just simply didn’t like.

Like, for movies–I can acknowledge that Citizen Kane is a tour de force and is all sorts of wonderful, cinematically speaking, but . . . I just don’t like it. I find it impressive and quite an accomplishment, but it’s not my cup of tea.

So . . . what book (or books) is your Citizen Kane?

Don’t forget to leave a link to your actual response (so people don’t have to go searching for it) in the comments—or if you prefer, leave your answers in the comments themselves!

 

104 Responses to “Best”

  1. Kat Says:

    Straight to the point answer for me right here. Happy BTT!

  2. jenp Says:

    Mine’s here.

    First time in BTT! :) Hi, all!

  3. Dreamybee Says:

    Wuthering Heights or The House of Seven Gables…zzzzz! Got through them both, but, man, was it painful!

  4. CJHill Says:

    Finally remembered it’s Thursday! Mine is linked to my name above.

    cjh

  5. scroobious Says:

    Anything by JM Coetzee. But mostly I just wanted to say: thank god someone else doesn’t care for Citizen Kane!

  6. Maria Says:

    Haven’t done one of these in ages. There are several, but the most noticeable is Lord of the Rings.

  7. [...] 2, 2008 This week’s Booking Through Thursday Question is: What, in your opinion, is the best book that you haven’t liked? Mind you, I don’t [...]

  8. mangomissives Says:

    Good day all… you can find my response here:
    http://mangomissives.wordpress.com/2008/10/02/booking-through-thursday-best/

  9. Sally Says:

    When this thing works, it’s a dream; when it doesn’t… I’ve been trying to leave my answer since 3:00 am.
    Here goes:
    http://bookcritiques.blogspot.com/

  10. JLS Hall Says:

    If I keep thinking, I’m sure I can come up with a few more. So I’ll stop thinking! Here’s my answer (if this actually works):

    http://jlshall.blogspot.com/2008/10/booking-through-thursday-worst-of-best.html

  11. Mine’s up! Happy Thursday, everyone.

  12. Kanadani Says:

    You can find my answer here!

  13. Violet Says:

    Wuthering heights. I read almost half of it. But then I relized that half of a book is enough to decide whether i like a book or not, however famous it might be.

    another one is Kane and Abel. I don’t know why, but I just did not like this one.

  14. Juliann Says:

    I am looking forward to see the responses on this one. Great distinction between hating a book and just not getting it.

    http://unwrittenreads.blogspot.com/2008/10/booking-through-thursday.html

  15. Ivy Says:

    I tore Crime and Punishment a well-deserved new one at http://kehinde.com/blog/?p=681

  16. Jenp Says:

    you guys are so much fun! thanks for the visit. now i’m off to visit you. :)

  17. My response is up: The ‘Eh’ of the Best. It also contains links to my really huge giveaway and my banned books week spotlights.

  18. Great question!

    My answer is HERE.

  19. nicole Says:

    Tougher question than it seems like–and I really do dislike a lot of books! Mine here.

  20. sarala Says:

    I haven’t done this for a while. I like this prompt.
    Here is mine:
    http://sharala.blogspot.com/2008/10/books-i-didnt-like.html

  21. Happy BTT all!

    Great question, mine is posted for anyone who’d like to know :)

  22. Heather Says:

    My response (Homer’s The Iliad and The Odyssey) can be found in full detail here: http://literaturecrazy.blogspot.com/2008/10/booking-through-thursdays.html.

  23. I actually answered this question in my BTT last week! But still had fun with it…

    http://bookclubclassics.com/Blog/2008/10/02/btt-best-and-banned/

    Thanks for doing this!

  24. Molly Says:

    On the Road – Jack Kerouac
    I thought it was sexist and it irritated me so much I refused to finish it even though I needed it to complete a college assignment. I finished enough to write a scathing paper and got a decent grade. I have always been curious to find out if it was just the place I was in my life that caused the reaction or if I would still feel the same way about the book all these years later.

  25. [...] October 2, 2008 Best Book I Hated Posted by jamieridenhour under Uncategorized | Tags: books |   Interesting question over at : [...]

  26. jlshall Says:

    Once again, WordPress thinks I’m spam. OK, just as an experiment let’s see if my WordPress blog is any more acceptable. Here’s my answer:

    http://jlshall.wordpress.com/2008/10/02/booking-through-thursday-worst-of-the-best/

  27. unfinishedperson Says:

    For this year, one has won (or not won, as the case may be) my heart and mind. For my choice, similar to Jen from Devourer of the Books, click here.

  28. Pam Says:

    I’m up…this was great question….one I answer freely almost all the time…no guilt here! http://dakotapam.blogspot.com/2008/10/best.html

  29. Matthew Says:

    I’m booking through a very peculiar location this week. Mine is up. Happy BTT everyone! :)

  30. writemeg Says:

    I went with ‘Beasts’ by Joyce Carol Oates on this one. What a dark story!

    Here’s mine:

    http://writemeg.wordpress.com/2008/10/02/booking-through-thursday/

  31. Mine is up. By the way, I heartily agree on Citizen Kane.

  32. Shauna Says:

    My answer is here.

  33. SteveB Says:

    There were a few in contention, but it’s gotta be “John Adams”
    http://stevebetz.vox.com/library/post/booking-through-thursday—-best.html

  34. Rebecca Says:

    Better late than never! I’m up at The Book Lady’s Blog.

  35. Better late than never! Mine is finally up!
    http://thesocialfrog.com/?p=265

  36. Joanne Says:

    Woo I almost didn’t make it today!
    Here is mine for this Thursday.

  37. Renee Says:

    I Know this Much Is True!

  38. The Great Gatsby. What’s the fuss about that book? I thought it was incredibly dull.

  39. [...] Booking Through Thursday poses this question today… [...]

  40. callista83 Says:

    Here’s my answer. I’ll check everyone else’s out tomorrow.

  41. Kay Says:

    My “Citizen Kane” is “War and Peace”. I know it’s a worldwide masterpiece but I just couldn’t get into it. I’m always curious to hear what people that do like “War and Peace” actually like about it, just to see what did I miss. So far no one has convinced me of actually missing something (but it’s considered a masterpiece, there just has to be something I’m missing, there has to be!) .

  42. Rhinoa Says:

    I managed to get mine up a day late but still!

    Rhinoa’s Ramblings

  43. Florinda Says:

    Booking Through Thursday on Friday – good question this week!


Comments are closed.

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 400 other followers